Stephen Colbert Reports

From http://wikiality.wikia.com/Truthiness

“Well, anybody who knows me knows I’m no fan of dictionaries or reference books – they’re elitist. Constantly telling us what is or isn’t true or what did or didn’t happen. Who’s Britannica to tell me the Panama Canal was finished in 1914? If I want to say it was happened in 1941, that’s my right.

“I don’t trust books. They’re all fact, no heart. And that’s exactly what’s pulling our country apart today. ‘Cause face it, folks: we are a divided nation. Not between Democrats and Republicans, or Conservatives and liberals, or tops and bottoms. No. We are divided between those who think with their head, and those who know with their heart.

“Consider Harriet Miers. If you think about Harriet Miers, of course her nomination’s absurd. But the president didn’t say he thought about his selection. He said “I know her heart”. Notice how he said nothing about her brain? He didn’t have to. He feels the truth about Harriet Miers.”

“And what about Iraq? If you think about it, maybe there are a few missing pieces to the rationale for war. But doesn’t taking Saddam out feel like the right thing? Right here? Right here in the gut? Cause that’s where the truth comes from ladies and gentlemen. The gut.

“Do you know you have more nerve endings in your stomach than in your head? Look it up. Now somebody’s gonna say, ‘I did look that up and it’s wrong.’  Well mister, that’s cause you looked it up in a book. Next time, try looking it up in your gut. I did. And my gut tells me that’s how our nervous system works.”

Leave a Reply

